Graduate Students

Yakein Abdelmagid

Student

yakein.abdelmagid@duke.edu

Anthropology of Media 
Anthropology of Middle East
Music Infrastructures 
Youth in the Middle East 
Hope and Despair 
Creative Labor ; Creative Industries 
Precarious Lives 
Neoliberalism and Entrepreneurship 

Mackenzie Cramblit

Student

mackenzie.cramblit@duke.edu

I am a 5th-year PhD candidate motivated by questions of intimacy, care and value in relation to rural places. I am interested in understanding what constitutes an "environment," how environments are made livable, and how we become attached to each other in their midst. My dissertation approaches...

Full Profile »

missing portrait

Zachary Levine

Student

zachary.e.levine@duke.edu

Interests: ayahuasca; drugs and therapy; guilt, criminality, carcerality; psychoanalysis and the state; crime and the sacred; neurorealism, secularism, enchanted science; Brazil

missing portrait

Spencer Orey

Graduate Assistant

spencer.orey@duke.edu

missing portrait

Matthew Sebastian

Student

matthew.sebastian@duke.edu

Humanitarianism
Youth
Futurity
Africa - Uganda

Jake Silver

Student

jake.silver@duke.edu

My research concerns the intimate dynamics of mediation, particularly the places and things that piece together our worlds and drive us to feel that we can make larger speculations about others and about human nature. I explore these conceptual interests within the the landscapes (and histories...

Full Profile »

Brian Smithson

Student

Office Hours: Wednesday & Thursday, 2:00 PM–3:00 PM, or by appointment

brian.smithson@duke.edu

My work focuses on Yorùbá movie production along the Benin–Nigeria border. I explore how this small-scale moviemaking allows producers to negotiate strategies for peaceful Christian–Muslim coexistence, express mutual veneration for indigenous Yorùbá divinities, and form new connections between...

Full Profile »

Christopher Webb

Student

christopher.m.webb@duke.edu

My research investigates the experience of military veterans reintegrating into the civilian world.  I am interested in how discourses of war and trauma shape the experience of people trying to reconcile the complex ethical dilemmas that materialize in these environments. 

North America...

Full Profile »

missing portrait

Louis Yako

Graduate Assistant

louis.yako@duke.edu

Serkan Yolacan

Graduate Assistant

serkan.yolacan@duke.edu

His research focuses on the role of diasporas in the transformation of state and society, analysed from the perspective of anthropology, history, and international relations. His dissertation project, entitled The Azerbaijani Triangle: Order Beyond Borders Across West Asia, employs diasporic...

Full Profile »