Graduate Students

Yakein Abdelmagid

Yakein Abdelmagid

Student

yakein.abdelmagid@duke.edu

Anthropology of Media 
Anthropology of Middle East
Music Infrastructures 
Youth in the Middle East 
Hope and Despair 
Creative Labor ; Creative Industries 
Precarious Lives 
Neoliberalism and Entrepreneurship 

Yidong Gong

Yidong Gong

Student

yidong.gong@duke.edu

I am a trained cultural anthropologist with research interests in medical anthropology, global health, medical humanities, socialism and post-socialism, colonialism and post-colonialism. I have made a number of research visits to South Sudan and Africa’s Horn and Great Lakes regions. I was an...

Full Profile »

Zachary Levine

Zachary Levine

Student

zachary.e.levine@duke.edu

Interests: ayahuasca; mediumship; psychoanalysis; empathy; incarceration; anthropology of religion and secularism; plants; drugs; psychedelia; neuroscience; gender and sexuality; Brazil

Jake Silver

Jake Silver

Student

jake.silver@duke.edu

My research concerns the interplay between science, imagination, and empire through ethnographic work alongside astronomers and astrophysicists in occupied Palestine. Therein, I explore how landscapes and histories of settler colonialism have inflected the political economy of science and...

Full Profile »

Brian Smithson

Brian Smithson

Student

Office Hours: Wednesday & Thursday, 2:00 PM–3:00 PM, or by appointment

brian.smithson@duke.edu

My work focuses on Yorùbá movie production along the Benin–Nigeria border. I explore how this small-scale moviemaking allows producers to negotiate strategies for peaceful Christian–Muslim coexistence, express mutual veneration for indigenous Yorùbá divinities, and form new connections between...

Full Profile »

Christopher Webb

Christopher Webb

Student

christopher.m.webb@duke.edu

My research investigates the experience of military veterans reintegrating into the civilian world.  I am interested in how discourses of war and trauma shape the experience of people trying to reconcile the complex ethical dilemmas that materialize in these environments. 

North America...

Full Profile »