Graduate Students

Joella Bitter

Joella Bitter

Student

joella.bitter@duke.edu

I am a Ph.D. Candidate in Cultural Anthropology with a Certificate in Gender, Sexuality, and Feminist Studies. My research and teaching pursue creative ways to critically engage interdisciplinary intersections of anthropology of sound and the senses, science and technology studies, feminist...

Full Profile »

Jieun Cho

Jieun Cho

Student

jieun.cho@duke.edu

Jieun Cho is a Ph.D. candidate in cultural anthropology at Duke University who is researching the intersection between children’s health, everyday life, and the ethical/political imagination in post-nuclear Japan. She is learning from the experience of middle-class families and radiation experts...

Full Profile »

Yidong Gong

Yidong Gong

Student

yidong.gong@duke.edu

I am a PhD candidate in Cultural Anthropology and a Doctoral Scholar with Duke Global Health Institute, with research interests in medical anthropology, global health, medical humanities, humanitarianism, socialism and post-socialism, colonialism and post-colonialism. I have made a number of...

Full Profile »

Carla Hung

Carla Hung

Student

carla.hung@duke.edu

Carla Hung is a cultural anthropologist working on a dissertation entitled Trafficking in Hospitality: The Criminalization of Solidarity Between Eritrean Refugees in Italy at Duke University in Durham, NC.

Zachary Levine

Zachary Levine

Student

zachary.e.levine@duke.edu

Interests: incarceration; ayahuasca; mediumship; spiritual healing; religion and secularism; plant sensing; drugs, criminalization, liberation; gender and sexuality; Brazil; Amazônia

Matthew Sebastian

Matthew Sebastian

Student

matthew.sebastian@duke.edu

Humanitarianism
Youth
Futurity
Africa - Uganda

Christopher Webb

Christopher Webb

Student

christopher.m.webb@duke.edu

My research investigates the experience of military veterans reintegrating into the civilian world.  I am interested in how discourses of war and trauma shape the experience of people trying to reconcile the complex ethical dilemmas that materialize in these environments. 

North America...

Full Profile »