Congratulations Class of 2021!


Judith McDade Prize in Cultural Anthropology

Awarded to the graduating senior(s) majoring in cultural anthropology judged to have the most distinguished record in the major.
Reed Joseph Margolis

Paul Farmer Award for Justice and Social Responsibility

To recognize commitment to academic excellence and social justice in cultural anthropology.

Maria Gabriela Pita

Anna Marie Steltenkamp


Graduation with Distinction in Cultural Anthropology

Christopher Maxwell Beck 

Consent, Bro: Cultural Contributors of Undergraduate Gender Violence and Student Led Efforts to Reduce Sexual Assault in Greek Life 

Joan Sena Kpodzro 

Reimagining Medicine through Christian Formation  

Reed Margolis 

Island of Misfits: Intersectionality and the Role of Media on Survivor

Maria Gabriela Pita 

Estorbando y Trabajando: The COVID-19 Experience of a Latinx Construction Worker in Durham 

Carter Yunyu Teng 

Survival Through Resistance: Gentrification and Anti-Gentrification Organizing in Boston and Manhattan's Chinatown 

Katie Waeldner 

Structural Inequities and Infant Feeding in Durham 

Katie Xu 

Pixelated Grief: The Social and Technological Distance of Death and Grief in 2020 



David Conlin
Nia Nicole El-Amin
Jonathan Robert Epstein
Joan Sena Kpodzro
Reed Joseph Margolis
Maria Gabriela Pita
Jessica Marie Rodriguez
Anna Marie Steltenkamp
Carter Yunyu Teng
Kathleen Helen Waeldner
Rezilience Nevaeh Williamson
Katie Rose Xu
Gabrielle Nicole Zegers


Second Major

Daniel Crair
Ryan Leigh McMutry
Carly Anne Perri


Interdepartmental Majors

Neuroscience - Cultural Anthropology
Christopher Maxwell Beck



Collins Azang Abanda
Summer Maia Brown
Anna Elaine Fink
Scott David Heng On
Jordan Moshe Hepburn
Lauren Alexis Hoffman
John Owen Honeycutt
Avery Leigh Indermaur
Katherine Margaret Kutzer
Suzanna Rose Larkin
Julien De'mond Lewis Jr.
Steven Thomas Mann II
Erin Leigh Marsh
Joshua David Nifong
Tiffany Jingyi Ouyang
Rachel Alice Radvany
Tatayana Amina Richardson
Hira Ellen Shah
Laurel Pyle Smith
Jongwerius Lavonte Stanley
Jabril Wilson